July 2001


Advance Warning

Minn-StF Meetings: Aug 4th & 18th.


1: Corwin Brust; 2: Neeters Hollister; 3: Jonathan Adams, Dave Crawford; 4: Don Bailey, Kris Spiesz; 5: Laurel Krahn; 7: Krissy; 8: Doug Friauf, Tesla Aldrich; 14: Lalee Kerr; 15: Kay Roberts; 16: Chuck Holst; 17: Floyd Henderson, Christina Scholl; 18: Eleanor Fregni; 21: Irene Raun, Geri Sullivan; 24: Amber Tatge; 25: Mike Bakula, Ann Totusek; 27: Polly Peterson; 28: John Johnson


There will be a new Dead Tree Edition of the Minn-StF Directory published the first week in July. Send your updates to sraun@fireopal.org, or find the master copy that Scott Raun is carrying around. There will be a copy at the Minn-StF Meeting on June 30th – ask the hosts!

CoA: Elizabeth LaVelle, 3645 Bloomington Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55407, 612-721-9635, ebeth@visi.com

CoEA: Jason Hollister - jastlmonad@earthlink.net, Neeters - spiralsis@earthlink.net.

CoA: Mitch Pockrandt, 3185 Folsom St, Boulder, CO 80304-2849, HPhone: 303-444-4645

Publishing News

MYTHOPOEIC AWARD finalists: CHILDREN'S LIT includes Laurel Winter, Growing Wings; SCHOLARSHIP/OTHER includes The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales. Winners announced early August.

Finalists for this year's Seiun Awards ("the Japanese Hugos") in the Foreign categories include All Tomorrow's Parties, by William Gibson and Barrayar, by Lois McMaster Bujold. Winners will be announced at the Japan SF Convention 2001, 18-19 August 2001, in Chiba,and be re-presented during the Hugo Award ceremony at this year's Worldcon in Philadelphia.

John M. Ford short-short "In the Days of the Comet" from Nature, reprinted in Year's Best SF 6, edited by David Hartwell.

Macalester student Lena DeTar was first runner-up in the 2001 Asimov Award for Undergraduate Excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy Writing with "Perfect Authentic Cadence;" she also got an honorable mention for "Obon Night." (She had also received an award and an h.m. in the 2000 contest.) Source: LOCUS

Sinclair Lewis' dystopian novel It Can't Happen Here was a finalist for the 2000 Prometheus Awards (from the Libertarian Futurist Society) in the Hall of Fame category. Source: LOCUS

Former local Kij Johnson won the IAFA Crawford Award for new fantasy writer for her novel The Fox Woman. She also three stories in a new online collection, Tales For The Long Rains, from Scorpius Digital Publishing. Source: LOCUS

Rights to former local Steven Brust's "Vlad" series have recently been sold in Yugoslavia, Poland, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, and Russia. Source: LOCUS

pb=mass market paperback. hc=hardcover. tp=trade paperback nf=nonfiction. coll=collection. anth=anthology. r=reissue


July 5-8, Westercon 54. Portland, OR. GOHs: Tim Powers, Mike Glyer, Frank Lurz, www.osfci.org/w2001

July 6-8, CONvergence 2001. Radisson South, Bloomington, MN. GoHs: Harry Knowles, Michael Sheard, Crist Balas, Jay "Father Geek" Knowles. Adults $50 at the door, children $15. FFI: www.convergence-con.org/

July 13-15, readercon 13. Burlington, MA. GOHs: Michael Swanwick, David G. Hartwell. http://www.readercon.org

July 13-15, InConJunction. Indianapolis, IN. GOHs: Joel Rosenberg, Stephen Hickman, Catherine Asaro, Xavier, Steve Jackson. www.inconjunction.org

Aug 3-5. Diversicon 9, St Paul, MN. GOHs: Stephen Pagel, Keith Hartman. www.sfminnesota.com

Aug 30 – Sept 3, The Millennium Philcon (The 59th World Science Fiction Convention), Philadelphia, PA. GOHs: Greg Bear, Stephen Youll, Gardner Dozois, George Scithers, Esther Friesner. http://www.milphil.org

Oct 19-21, CONsume/Relaxacon 2001. Ramada Inn Northwest, Brooklyn Park, MN. I-94/I-694 and County Rd 81. $25 until July 31st. $30 until Oct. 1st. $35 at the con. Children 0-10 free, 11-16 $15. Supporting membership $5 convertible to attending $20. One day memberships $20. Half day/night memberships $15. $5 rebate for bringing a home-made dish for the consuite. Rooms are $69 per night (plus tax). Call the hotel (763)-566-8855 for reservations. Room block held until Oct. There are about 20 rooms left in the convention area, the Executive Courtyard. Posthumous GoH: Gordy Dickson. We will hold a remembrance of Gordy and ask anyone who has any memorabilia to bring it along. For more info write relaxacon2001@ hotmail.com, visit http://relaxacon.tripod.com, or call 612-825-8010. Checks payable to Rick Gellman, 3700 1st Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55409-1318.

Oct 31 – Nov 3, 2002. World Fantasy Convention 2002, Minneapolis, MN. GoH’s: Dennis Etchison, Jonathan Carroll, Kathe Koja. Stephen Jones, Dave McKean. Hilton Minneapolis & Towers, Mpls, MN. Memberships $100 through 11/4/2001, more thereafter. FFI: wfc@dreamhavenbooks.com

Ongoing Information

Board of Directors: Dean Gahlon, Sharon Kahn, Scott Raun, Larry Sanderson, and Martin Schafer. Board meetings are usually the second Friday of the month at 7:30PM. Email board@mnstf.org. Mn-STF meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Saturday every month.

Minn-STF Hotline: Provides latest information and accepts messages: 612-824-5559; web site at: www.mnstf.org/. Minicon web site at: www.mnstf.org/minicon/.

Gamesday Players: Board & card gaming almost every Friday evening. FFI: Richard Tatge at 612-827-3228.

Filk Circle: open to all who like to participate in music with f/sf lyrics. 4th Saturday at 5pm: 3236 Cedar Ave South; FFI: 612-721-6076. Cats.

Einblatt is posted on Usenet groups rec.arts.sf.fandom, alt.fandom.misc, and mn.sf // Einblatt from July 95 to date is on the web at http://www.mnstf.org/einblatt/. Einblatt is distributed via e-mailing-list – send e-mail to einblatt-list-subscribe@mnstf.org.

This Einblatt was edited by Scott Raun with the assistance of Denny Lien (publishing news) and Mike Pins (conventions).

Einblatt is a monthly publication of the Minnesota Science Fiction Society, devoted to news of the local SF community. E-mail same to einblatt@mnstf.org, or send to Scott Raun, 3928 11th Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55407; or call him at 612-822-0451. Email submissions most preferred, no phone calls after 10pm. // Next Einblatt! Deadline: 11:59PM Jul 26th, 2001 sharp!