Einblatt! November 2009


Advance Warning

Minn-StF Meetings: Dec 5, Blaisdell Polytechnic, Dec 19, Irene & Scott Raun's


Thanks to recent meeting hosts: Betsy Lundsten, Marian Turner, Shaun Kelly, Dean Gahlon & Laura Krentz, Bill Christ, Erin McKee & David Wilford, Irene & Scott Raun, Matt+Kelly Strait, Blaisdell Polytechnic.

Starting this month, subscription expiration dates for the Dead Tree Edition are printed above your name.


1: Jane Freitag; 2: Don Fitch; 4: Kara Dalkey; 6: Jack Targonski; 8: Myrna Sue Logan; 11: Marty Helgesen; 15: Rob Ihinger; 16: Ken Konkol; 23: Steven Brust

Publishing News:

Deadly Danger, Joan Marie Verba's 3rd Thunderbirds novel. tp, http://www.ftlpublications.com

American Fantastic Tales (ed Peter Straub; two-vol hc from Library of America, 2009) includes stories by three Minnesotans: "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" by F. Scott Fitzgerald; "Unseen -- Unfeared" by Francis Stevens; and "Nightmare" by Donald Wandrei.

Firebirds Soaring (ed. Sharyn November; 2008 Firebird hc) includes "Flatland" by ex-local Kara Dalkey and "Little Red" by Adam Stemple (in collaboration with Jane Yolen).

Alan DeNiro, "When Ruined," poem in The Exquisite Corpuscle (ed. Frank Wu and Jay Lake; 2008 Fairwood tp)

Neil Gaiman: "An Invocation of Curiosity" in Songs of the Dying Earth (ed. Martin & Dozois; 2009 Subterranean hc); "Orange" in The Starry Rift (ed. Jonathan Strahan, 2008 Viking hc). Reprints: "Fifteen Painted Cards from a Vampire Tapestry", The Big Book of Necon (ed. Bob Booth; Cemetery Dance 2009 hc); "Feminine Endings", The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror V.18 (ed. Stephen Jones; 2009 Running Press tp); "October in the Chair" in Poe's Children (ed. Peter Straub; Doubleday tp) and "A Study in Emerald" in The Improbable Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (ed. John Joseph Adams; NightShade tp)

Local author/fan Thomas R. Tietze has died after a long illness; his last book (co-edited with Gary Riedl, also local) was a Jack London collection, Tales of Cannibals and Headhunters (2006).

Lois McMaster Bujold won the 2009 Minnesota Fantasy Award.

pb=mass market paperback. hc=hardcover. tp=trade paperback nf=nonfiction. coll=collection. anth=anthology. r=reissue


Nov 13-15 WindyCon 36, Lombard, IL. GoH: Phil & Kaja Foglio. http://www.windycon.org/

Jun 18-20, 2010. DucKon, Naperville, IL. GoHs: Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, Scott Raun, Talis Kimberly. http://www.duckon.org/

Aug 17-21, 2011. Renovation (69th WorldCon). Reno, NV. GoHs: Tim Powers, Ellen Asher, Boris Vallejo. FFI: www.renovationsf.org

Ongoing Information

Board of Directors: Seven (Jennifer) Anderson, Dean Gahlon, Betsy Lundsten, Scott Raun & Matt Strait. Email board@mnstf.org. Mn-STF meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Saturday every month, Board meeting minutes are posted at http://www.mnstf.org/records/board-minutes/, check there for the next board meeting.

Minn-STF web site at: www.mnstf.org/. Minicon web site at: www.mnstf.org/minicon/.

Gamesday Players: Board & card gaming almost every Friday evening. FFI: Richard Tatge at 612-827-3228.

Filk Circle: open to all who like to participate in music with f/sf lyrics. 4th Saturday at 5pm. FFI: Rich Brown, 651-646-2159, rab@freemars.com

Artists and Writers: Get your art and thoughts in print in Stipple-Apa, small-and-cozy general-interest publication. FFI: Jeanne Mealy 651-771-7226

Einblatt is posted on Usenet groups rec.arts.sf.fandom, rec.arts.sf.announce and mn.sf // Einblatt from July 95 to date is on the web at www.mnstf.org/einblatt/. Einblatt is distributed via e-mailing-list - sign up at the website (here).

This Einblatt was edited by Scott Raun with the assistance of Denny Lien (publishing news) and Kevin Austin(conventions).

Einblatt is a monthly publication of the Minnesota Science Fiction Society, devoted to news of the local SF community. E-mail same to einblatt@mnstf.org, or send to Scott Raun, 3928 11th Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55407; or call him at 612-822-0451. Email submissions most preferred, no phone calls after 10pm. // Next Einblatt! Deadline: 11:59PM November 26th, 2009 sharp!