Guests of Honor

We have an amazing lineup of guests for Minicon 51

Seanan McGuire - Author

Seanan McGuire (pronounced SHAWNen MickGWEYEur) grew up to be every parent's dream: an author and a filker. However, she fulfilled so many author/filker's starryeyed dreams by becoming wildly successful and nominated for many awards, gaining critical success and many avid fans.

She writes books, short stories, poetry, etc. under her name and an assumed name, Mira Grant. In 2010, she won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and her novel Feed (as Mira Grant) was named one of Publishers Weekly's Best Books of 2010. In 2013, she was the first person ever to appear 5 times on the Hugo ballot.

Be nice to her before she masters something YOU want to do, and welcome Seanan (see, that time you didn't even have to try, did you?) to Minicon!

Sara Butcher Burrier - Artist

Sara Butcher Burrier grew up in Iowa, and despite everyone's impression that all Iowans are farmers, grew up to be an artist. She attended the Minneapolis College of Art & Design. After Minnesota and Iowa, she headed off to the Glasgow School of Art in Scotland.

Sara is an illustrator of children's books, and author of The Pixie Fairy Coloring Book and Watercolor Fairy Art. Her own work focuses on the brightness and peace, inspired by birdsongs and plant life, and she is especially passionate about connecting with young people through art. In Des Moines, in addition to being an artist and author (as if that were not enough), she teaches Manga and fantasy styles of painting and illustration. As a side note, despite Convention Chair's many requests, Sara has remained adamant that art focused on Fairies, Angels, Nature, and Peace should not include Zombies.

Lojo Russo - Musician

Lojo Russo has been orbiting the 'Con biospheres since her first days as the bass player in the awesomely, classic-jam-rock quintet known as, 'Cats Laughing'. Three of the original members of 'Cats Laughing' - Emma Bull, Steven Brust and Adam Stemple - are best known for their wonderfully crafted SF/F novels. A fourth member wrote 'blue novels' under the pseudonym, “Anonymous”. Russo retains the dubious distinction of being the only non-published author of that group.

From those humble beginnings Lojo Russo has continued to provide soulful, fanciful and farcical music to her enduring fan. Her novelty album, Sweet Tooth, contains the 'Con inspired hits, 'Orbital Groove’ and 'Blame It On the Jello’. She enjoys long walks on the beach, the smell of Hi-Karate and the way bandaid packets spark when you open them.