Minicon 17

Minicon 17 was held 17–19 April 1981 at the Minneapolis Radisson. The guests of honor were Jack Vance (pro), Jerry Boyajian (fan), Reed Waller (musician), and Kathy Marschall (artist). We don't have any specific records on the membership numbers, but based on adjacent Minicons, it must have been somewhere around 1100. The executive committee was Steve Bond, Don Bailey, Scott Imes, and Dave Wixon.

Program Book

small Minicon 17 program book cover

Here is a PDF of the Minicon 17 program book (8 MB).

Toggle display of more details

Scans are available here in a range of qualities and file sizes. Most people want the middle column in which the files have been substantially cleaned up to remove the grain of the paper, bleed through from adjacent pages, etc., but are still high resolution. The right column has the scans reduced to monochrome and to the smallest legible size.

Raw scans
(~8 MB)
Cleaned up
(~300 kB)
Smallest files
(~30 kB)
Front cover Front cover Front cover
0–1 0–1 0–1
2–3 2–3 2–3
4–5 4–5 4–5
6–7 6–7 6–7
8–9 8–9 8–9
10–11 10–11 10–11
12–13 12–13 12–13
14–15 14–15 14–15
16–17 16–17 16–17
18–19 18–19 18–19
20–21 20–21 20–21
22–23 22–23 22–23
24–25 24–25 24–25
26–27 26–27 26–27
28–29 28–29 28–29
30–31 30–31 30–31
32–33 32–33 32–33
34–35 34–35 34–35
Back cover Back cover Back cover

Creative Commons License Except as noted below, portions of the Minicon 17 Program Book made available here are by the Minnesota Science Fiction Society, Ken Fletcher, or Laramie Sasseville and are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Text by Poul Anderson is © copyright 1981 by Poul Anderson and is reproduced here by permission. Art by Kathy Marschall is © Kathy Grantham and is reproduced here by permission. Art by Joan Hanke-Woods is © delphyne joan hanke-woods and is reproduced here by permission. Art by Larry Becker is © Larry Becker. Text by John Robey is public domain. Advertisements remain property of the advertisers.

This notice overrides copyright notices in the original document, if any.


Front and back, respectively:

Small image of the front of the Minicon 17 t-shirt Small image of the back of the Minicon 17 t-shirt

The shirt was also available, at least, in yellow. The program book says "There are many different varieties of shirts available, including a couple of sweatshirt designs". Does this mean different art, or just different colors?

Here's another shirt which might be from Minicon 17. The artist is Joan Hanke-Woods. This is the only Minicon with her art in the program book. This is the front, the back being blank:

Small image of the front of what might be a Minicon 17 t-shirt

This shirt was also also available in, at least, yellow.