Minicon 20

Minicon 20 was held 5–7 April 1985 at the Radisson Hotel South (Bloomington). Membership was about 1525. Guests of honor were James P. Hogan (pro), The Permanent Floating Riot Club (fan group), The White Women (musicians), and Stu Shiffman (artist). Jerry Stearns and Kara Dalkey were toastmasters. The executive committee was Caryl Dixon, Joel Halpern, Scott Imes, Mark Richards, and Martin Schafer.


Since at least the Minicon 38 program book, our history table has said that the membership of Minicon 20 was 1525, but we don't know where that number came from or how reliable it is. We do have a traceable pre-reg number, though: 1072. This comes from printed report (on fan-fold green bar) found in the archives in 2017. It is an exact count, or nearly so, of the pre-reg as of 3/30/1985.

Program Book

small Minicon 20 program book cover

Here is it is in PDF (9 MB), or the same, but lower quality and a smaller download (1.7 MB).

Toggle display of more details

Most of the Minicon 20 program book is in the public domain due to having been published between 1978 and March 1989 without a copyright notice nor subsequent copyright registration.

Creative Commons License Art by Laramie Sasseville and text by Kara Dalkey in the The Minicon 20 Program Book are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Advertisements with copyright notices are © as indicated.


small Minicon 20 flyerA one-sided flyer.